Skip to content

Polish and Modge Podge.

February 10, 2011

O me O MY! A few weeks ago I posted about two of my very good friends, and favorite couples, buying their very first home (Decor, Design && Other Drugs). Well, lucky me, turns out I get to benefit a tad from their new purchase too! Look what I inherited…

A diamond in the rough. I am in LOVE! (Don’t tell but I actually yelled welcome home to the desk as I heaved it into the house…it’s okay, I’m judging myself too..ha!) In fact I love it so much that I started to work on it tonight! I never get to a piece this quickly, I am quite impressed with myself…

Anyways, on to the good stuff. I dug out a bottle of dark wood scratch cover by Old English, and got to work first rubbing in any scratches and dings, then covering the entire piece. Here is a pre-polish shot…

And post-polish…

These pictures don’t really do it justice, but you can get an idea of how much it shines now! The inside of the drawers were a bit rough, crayon marks and such covered some of the bottoms of them. Simple solution: cover em! I took to a couple of tutorials before starting..but, of course I had some difficulties! (You can find my own DIY tutorial below) 

 However, the solution was cheap ($10.68 for wrapping paper, Modge Podge, and uh, a Reeses Egg..)  and I am pretty pleased with the result…I will however next time use a thicker paper. Here is my final product…

I already had my foam brushes at home and a flat hard item (rolling pin, block of wood..) to help flatten out the paper. The biggest piece of advice I can offer is to work towards you laying two corners of the paper down first and flatten it out as you go with your flat hard item. I learned this a tad too late and have a few bubbly parts as a result.

My next hurtle for this piece (other than finding somewhere to put it?!?) is the handles. It came with some very brassy little dudes…

I scoured Anthro’s website for new handles and even settled on a few, but nothing seemed to grab my attention..and the holes drilled for each screw are only 1.5 inches apart. The smallest handles I can seem to find are 2 inches apart. So. Once it warms up a tad I am going to take a can of bright white spray paint to em. I will share the result when they are finished!

Any recent projects in the works for you???

xo ❤ Crazy Agnus

*Edit… final project is complete– take a look.

Shared on The Lettered Cottages Link Party!

The Lettered Cottage
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:18 pm

    Love the desk…lucky lucky handme down!
    Reese’s egg? P & I are totally jealous now.

    • February 10, 2011 5:46 pm

      Ha ha yes, I was having an “annoyed” day and spotted one, I think secretly all the talk about Reeses on your blog led me to one!!!

  2. March 29, 2011 1:51 pm

    Gotta love an awesome hand-me-down!
    You did such a great job with it! 🙂

    • March 29, 2011 3:08 pm

      Oh, yes! Freebies and hand-me-downs are THEE best! Glad you like it and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

