Skip to content

Zeebs Rocking Horse.

January 27, 2011

My final product…drum roll please…introducing “zeebs rocking horse!”

Before even beginning to work on this piece I had to find a dow rod to fit into the hole made for the handle. After which I settled on a spray-primer…bad idea, the result was terrile! The primer bubbled and cracked. So, after sanding the primer off, once again making sure all the nooks and crannies were tackled I used a solid white paint as a primer instead of purchasing an actual primer…which worked really well and was much cheaper than buying an actual primer.

After my sanding/priming fiasco I painted the whole piece a top coat solid white. Next I focused on the purple, leaving the “body” of the horse white still..I learned that next time I will invest in some masking tape and use a technique similar to painting a wall around the trim since I am still covering up a few stray purple or black brush licks! The zebra stripes proved to be the hardest part, I wanted a consistent pattern, but this was difficult to get this look while freehanding the piece.  

A few green rhinestones made up for the eyes and two clear ones were added to the handle, and I was done! I still have yet to put a clear coat on the top of it. I chose a flat based tone, in a spray paint form, eek…hopefully it turns out better than the primer! I think my next project won’t be as detailed 🙂 ha!

Share with me what you have been working on! I’d love to hear!

xo ❤ Crazy Agnus

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shinypigeon permalink
    February 1, 2011 12:53 pm

    Beautiful!
    I want it! 🙂

  2. February 1, 2011 10:26 pm

    Thanks! ha ha I do too…luckily I have a fabulous set of friends who have one adorable little girl and another on the way! They let me “experiment” little things for their girls all the time. Thankfully!

Leave a comment