Skip to content

Decor Inspiration.

January 11, 2011

One of my favorite couples are in the beginning stages of buying their first home! WOO HOO! Recently engaged, Andy and Ashley are going to have their work cut out for them with an upcoming wedding (that I am so blessed to be MOH in!) and a house re-vamp to be done. But with alot of love and a bit of sweat they’ll start life together in an awesome way!

Going through the house with them this past weekend was a blast, leaving me quite inspired, the house is full of gems: wainscoating, a window seat, beautiful hardwood floors. Can you tell I am in love??? 

–  Their new kitchen is full of gorgeous brand new cherry cabinets, but there is not much room for a kitchen table. Possible solutions?

A kitchen nook! Check out some of these DIY ideas…

via GadBoutMedia

via Home Away

What I like best about these nooks is you can add or take away chairs as needed, leaving a cozy bench full of colorful pillows for cozy Sunday morning coffee !

– A big pop-out window, not quite big enough to sit in, draws lots of light into the living room, but also can cause problems if it hits the TV just right.  To fix such a problem…

via HubPages

via ThatchCottage

I really like how the big curtains draw attention to the whole window when pulled back, but can block out unwanted light when desired.

– Did I forget to mention built-in bookshelves? O yes, I did…how could I?!? I am trying to persuade Ashley of this look…

via RoomRemixBlog

via Simplified Bee

What do you think? What are some of your favorite home “gems”?

xo ❤ Crazy Agnus

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 5:17 pm

    Love the bookcase with the patterned backing – would be great for adding some depth to display shelves….sigh….if only I had shelvespace for display….I’m too book-obsessed.

  2. January 12, 2011 7:35 pm

    Oh, I know! I LOVE such pieces…however I don’t think I have talked her into it 😦

    AND…with the house the couple has inherited thousands of items from vintage knick-knacks to awesome foreign wine bottles and even a collection of very old beautiful books! However, she doesn’t want to use them in her decor so I have offered to take them off her hands…naturally!

    Ha I guess another person’s trash really is another’s treasure!

  3. January 13, 2011 4:38 pm

    Well done on the hoard!
    😀

Leave a Reply

